Loading...
TOMMY GUERRERO

TOMMY GUERRERO

May 10, 2019

Profile

Name:
Tommy Guerrero
DOB:
1966
POB:
旧金山,美国加州
Occupation:
滑板选手,音乐人。

Fuck you精神和DIY精神是这样一种感觉,“我行我素,对于我认为绝对的事情不给与妥协”当今我们只灌输给孩子们们知识,却没有时间去培养他们的创造力。和小伙伴自由自在地玩,激发孩子的好奇心,培养勇于挑战的精神和责任感,这些在一时间都不再被强调。然而现在需要的并不是“宽松无压力”而是骨子里散发出来的百分百纯粹和野性的处方。这就是被叫做Tommy Guerrero的疗法。

我的音乐基因遗传自我父亲的家庭。我和我的哥哥并没有同我的父亲或是他的家庭生活在一起。真的是基因就在那里。

我的音乐基因遗传自我父亲的家庭。我和我的哥哥并没有同我的父亲或是他的家庭生活在一起。真的是基因就在那里。我的祖父是一个爵士吉他手,而我的祖母是主唱,他们组了一个乐队。然后他们的四个儿子都是音乐家。我的父亲和三个叔叔都是音乐家。我的父亲几乎演奏过各种乐器。我听说,他们曾经在旧金山的有着古老爵士音乐传统的Fillmore地区表演过,和很多爵士乐手一起共度时光,比如像是Jimmy Smith那样杰出的艺术家。我们后来才对这段历史有了一定了解。

在我12,3岁时,哥哥和我开始玩音乐。哥哥比我大三岁半,他先是玩鼓。在他的那个乐队,我开始唱歌。那是我们第一个乐队,是个朋克摇滚乐队,紧接着我开始玩贝斯。我主要是一个贝斯手,我是玩贝斯玩大的。但是,你要知道,基因是一种会遗传的东西。基因这种东西让我们无法摆脱我们是谁的身份。幸运的是我和我的哥哥继承了音乐基因。他是一个玩得比我好得多的吉他手,不同风格的摇滚和Roll。我们组建的第一个乐队名为Jelly Kids。在Jellys Kids之后是Revenge,接下来是Free Beer。Free Beer最后一次以乐队现身是同Suicidal TendenciesAngry Samonas一起,在1984年的时候。

滑板手就像是朋克们一样。他们之间有某种共通的东西,两者能够互相理解。它们使得滑板和朋克摇滚有了同一起源,面向主流社会的那种DIY态度和‘fuck you’态度在两者中共存。

我并不是只受到一位艺术家的影响,因为这些年来我一直在改变我的演奏风格。从演奏朋克摇滚开始,哈,我们又从头说起了。我最初的朋克摇滚的体验是在1978-79年间观看Ramones,这段经历使得我开始同我哥和朋友们开始忘我地玩朋克摇滚,为朋克摇滚所倾倒。在更早的时候当Sex Pistols来旧金山的时候,我在新闻上看到他们,受到了触动,因为他们反抗所有一切。那种态度就是一个向一切事物所出示的“fuck you”。并且作为一个小孩子,一个滑板手,它们使得滑板和朋克摇滚有了同一起源,面向主流社会的那种DIY态度和‘fuck you’态度在两者中共存。作为一个滑板手,一个少年,你还是会轻视主流社会中的东西,它们没有价值。

之后朋克摇滚也是这样登场。很多人就是反抗,他们并没有真正地去学如何地演奏乐器,他们只是开始玩音乐。不过那也自然。通过音乐人们表达出他们所有的情绪和感受,无处可去的愤怒,某个瞬间感受到的情感。一起都来源于欧洲,英国那边正在流行些什么,就会传到美国来。1980年,80年代发生了很多事,那个时代确实有某种号召力。这真的只在某些特定的人群中产生共鸣,滑板手就像是朋克们一样。他们之间有某种共通的东西,两者能够互相理解。

同时在80年代早期Hip-hop登场的时候,我受到了很大的震撼。在音乐的创作上,Hip-hop也是在什么都没有的基础上去做出一些东西来,这点和朋克摇滚很相似。

朋克形成了我的大部分DIY精神,促使我去玩乐队和制作音乐,一开始只是拿起乐器开始弹奏,然后渐渐地成长为能够谈几个小时贝斯的音乐家。朋克摇滚并不是一种进步的过程,更多是在于信息,作为转递信息的媒介。从那时开始,作为一个音乐家,我想要进步,我想要学习不同种类的音乐,更具有挑战性的东西。

之后我开始更多地接触金属摇滚,那个时候金属摇滚是诸如Black Sabbath这种风格的乐队,以及Motorhead。那时我是RushGeddy Lee的超级粉丝,试着演奏了各种特别疯狂的贝斯。接下来在80年代早期,Hip-hop进入了我的生活。我曾听了各种类型的音乐-朋克,很多新潮流的东西,像是The Cure, Joy DivisionNew Order。同时在80年代早期Hip-hop登场的时候,我受到了很大的震撼。在音乐的创作上,Hip-hop也是在什么都没有的基础上去做出一些东西来,这点和朋克摇滚很相似。用转盘从几张唱片中截取的几秒片段来制造那个瞬间,加上节拍的巧妙处理来呈现不同的音乐元素。这真是划时代的东西。Rap也是传递信息的手段,朋克摇滚也是。毫无疑问,朋克和Hip-hop影响了我的感知。因为我自己是贝斯手,就更加地倾心于韵律。所有的节拍都以Hip-hop以及更加朋克的方式在吸引着我。

我喜欢将各种素材打散组合,制作出完全不同类型的音乐。

我喜欢将各种素材打散组合,制作出完全不同类型的音乐。从1991年起我开始使用采样器和各种器材来作出节奏。用自己弹奏的贝斯或是吉他来取样使其反复播放。我也制作给说唱歌手用的节拍,但是不怎么成功。我同很多说唱歌手的朋友一起制作,但是真的都不成功。我保存有所有这些节拍,伴奏节拍,有时和着吉他我会放些吉他伴奏来,节拍就会变得很不一样。

如果要列举出哪个乐队特别影响了我,我可以说出很多,我可以做一个分隔,从早期的我非常喜欢的rock ‘n’ roll, Sex Pistols和那些英国的朋克,Stiff Little FingersBuzzcocks,到后来我开始更喜欢美式朋克,我成长于加州,那里有很多伟大的朋克乐队,接着又到金属摇滚,接着又到Hip-hop。有一张唱片我爱得全心全意,那就是Eric B. & Rakim。那感觉让人难以置信,那就好像是从来没有过的风格,Raki的风格,那种节拍,所有的所有。他在一股Rap的新浪潮的引导下,变得比起人们都喜爱的Kurtis Blow更有思想。从Eric B.&Rakim, Public EnemyKRS-One,接着到Gang Starr,接着到Tribe Called Quest,他们采样的方式,譬如他们那种音像拼贴,那种大杂烩式的制作节拍的方法都影响到我。从不同的地方拿到那些彼此独立的元素,来制造出一个新风格的音乐。

 

Latest Issue

Loading...
TOMMY GUERRERO

TOMMY GUERRERO

May 10, 2019

Profile

Name:
Tommy Guerrero
DOB:
1966
POB:
San Francisco, California, United States
Occupation:
Skateboarder / Musician

Fuck You Spirit and D.I.Y. Spirit is a feeling that “Move on my own without giving up the value I think is absolute. “Now children can only be given choices to cram knowledge, they have no time to feed their creativity. Playing freely with friends, raising curiosity, cultivating the courage and responsibility has become lie low for a while. However, what you need is not ‘Pressure-free’ but 100% pure and violent with naked bone instinct barely naked prescription. A remedy called Tommy Guerrero is here.

The musical side of my family is my father’s side. Me and my brother didn’t grow up with my father or his family at all. It is really genetic is what it is.

The musical side of my family is my father’s side. Me and my brother didn’t grow up with my father or his family at all. It is really genetic is what it is. But my grandfather was a jazz guitar player and violinist and my grandmother was the vocalist because they had a band together. Then, their four sons were all musicians. My father was a musician and all three uncles were musicians. My father played pretty much every instrument. They used to play – he used to play, from what I am told, in Fillmore, the old jazz district in San Francisco. He had said that he had sat in with a lot of different players who came through, like heavy jazz player. I think he said Jimmy Smith and some people of that nature. We didn’t learn about this history until much later in life.

My brother and I started playing music when I was about 12 or 13. He is my older brother, three-and-a-half years, and so, he first was playing drums. Yes. Then, I was actually singing in the very first band, punk rock band, and then I started playing bass. That is what I – I am mainly a bass player. That is what I grew up playing. But, you know, genetics has a way of forcing these things upon the next generation. We can’t escape who we are, right, genetically? So, luckily, from that side of the family, me and my brother got the musical gene. He is a much better guitar player than I am, different style of rock and roll. Very First band call Jellys Kids but very small unknown, and after Jellys Kids band was Revenge, and then Free Beer. Free Beer last show as a band 1984 with Suicidal Tendencies and Angry Samonas.

Skateboarders were just like the punkers. There was a certain commonality and understanding between the two. Skateboarding and punk rock came from the same place, the same spirit of very sort of D.I.Y. attitude and sort of ‘fuck you’ attitude toward mainstream society.

There is really not one artist, because I have changed throughout the years my style of playing. I went from playing punk rock to – I mean, so we can go all the way back to the beginning. My first initial experience with punk rock music was seeing that the Ramones in 1978-79. And so that started the whole movement towards playing punk rock with my brother and friends. And when the Sex Pistols came to San Francisco, I think it might have been even earlier, I had seen them on the news and it just, I was very intrigued because it was, it went against everything, it was a big ‘fuck you’ to everything. And as a little kid, a skateboarder, it just made skateboarding and punk rock came from the same place, the same spirit of very sort of D.I.Y. attitude and sort of ‘fuck you’ attitude toward mainstream society, because even as a skater, as a young kid, you were still look down upon, so it was something that was not worthy.

And then punk rock came along as the same thing, a lot of people there was a huge backlash because it was people who didn’t really learn how to play their instruments, they just started playing music. And just because it was part of the necessity, so you convey these emotions that you have and a message that you have that how pissed off everyone was and what was going on, and it all really came from Europe, from the U.K. and what was going on over there, and then it echoed across into the states. And there were a lot of things at the times, 1980 and the 80s and the power is that be, we’re doing all kinds of terrible things. It just really resonated with certain type of people and skateboarders were just like the punkers. There was a certain commonality and understanding between the two.

When hip-hop was coming in the early 80s, I really got intrigued by that because it was very similar to punk rock to me. D.I.Y., you have to create and you have to make music, and so what they have created out of nothing.

The punk scene formed a large part of who I am of the D.I.Y. spirit, and so that just lead into playing bands and making music, and then from there what happened is you pick up an instrument, you just start messing around. And then over time, I was really into that I would just play for hours upon hours and play my bass. And you start progressing as a musician and punk rock was not about progression, it was more about a message, it was a vehicle for message. And from there, I wanted to start to progress as a musician, I would want to learn different types of music, something more challenging.

Then I started getting more into metal, and metal at the time was like Black Sabbath and these type of bands, these types of rock bands and Motorhead. And then I was really a big fan of Rush to Geddy Lee, and trying to play all the crazy bass. And then it just progressed from there into when hip-hop came in my life in the early 80s, there was like I was listening to all types of music – punk, a lot of the new wave stuff, a lot of the stuff like The Cure, Joy Division and New Order and then everything that was happening with that, but at the same time when hip-hop was coming in the early 80s, I really got intrigued by that because it was very similar to punk rock to me. D.I.Y., you have to create and you have to make music, and so what they have created out of nothing was using turntables and using a couple of seconds of music from a record and moments on that record to create and juggle these beats and to create songs out of just disperate elements of music. It was so just groundbreaking and the way they approach it and rap again was a vehicle for a message and so with punk rock. And to me punk rock and hip-hop made total sense. And this was all about hip-hop, but I was all on the base player, so I am really into rhythm. All the beats and everything that came from the hip-hop which comes from more funk and it was just magnet for me.

I had all these different things clashing at the same time and happening with different types of music that I really love.

I had all these different things clashing at the same time and happening with different types of music that I really love. So, I started making beats around 1991 and had the sampler and some other things, I started making beats, and I had sampled my basslines. I play my guitar over and sampled that, loop things, and I was creating some beats for rappers but that never really worked out. I work with a bunch of friends who are rappers and stuff, but it never really worked out. I had all these beats, instrumental beats and with these guitar I put some guitar stuff over it and that’s how it all really evolved, it just kind of happened.

To say like what band specifically influenced me there is so many. I mean, I could give you a breakdown like, from the earlier stuff, and there was lot of rock ‘n’ roll that I love too but the earliest punk stuff from the Sex Pistols and all the English stuff, Stiff Little Fingers, Buzzcocks, all that stuff and then going into like, more like American punk, California stuff where I grew up, there are so many great punk bands there. And then from there was got into metal stuff got into hip-hop and the earliest hip-hop like, one record for me was paid in full, Eric B. & Rakim. That was like, that was it, that was like incredible, that was something that had… stylistically had never been done, Rakim’s flow, his style, the beat, everything. It just, I think, was ushered in the new wave of rap from just from yes, you all into like Kurtis Blow to something much more thoughtful. And then from Eric B. & Rakim and Public Enemy and KRS-One and then into Gang Starr and then into Tribe Called Quest and those formed me like what they were sampling and their approach to beat making like collaging, I think, of them as an audio collage, you are taking desperate elements from various places and creating a new context for this new type of music.

 

Latest Issue