Loading...
MHAK Item related to MHAK

MHAK

October 14, 2017

Profile

Name:
MHAK as MASAHIRO AKUTAGAWA
DOB:
1981
POB:
會津若松,日本
Occupation:
油画家 / 艺术家

MOKOMOKO虽会进化,但它的精神却不变。MHAK是位正活跃于世界舞台的会津若松男儿,这位艺术家的脑海中,只存在着摸索要如何才能忠于自己的构思,除此之外别无他想。而透过隐藏在出自他笔下,了无生机的MOKOMOKO的情操表现出的「人心」,就是画家的寻觅的答案。「透过绘画,带出超脱画作的讯息」,不管是当下或未来,也没有人或事能动摇这股钢铁般的信念。
**MOKOMOKO是他的代表作。

从小到大父亲都是一个无所不能,无所不知的人,我真的觉得他非常厉害。当将来我有了孩子的话,我也会想成为像他那般的父亲呢。

少年时代的我,是个爱滑雪,打棒球,又会四处游山玩水的好动少年。虽然也爱画画,但可以选择的还是会走到外面玩乐吧。直到成为中学生后,才慢慢对服饰产生兴趣,其后兴趣更广阔至装潢摆设和家具。升上高中后,我对室内摆设的兴趣越来越浓厚,开始向往Mid-Century Modern,这亦令我认识了一众设计师。作为中学生的我当然买不起,所以只能够一直抱着憧憬度过整个青春时代。直至18岁那年我来到东京后,有了独立经济能力,才终于能逐点逐点买到一直以来都觉得梦寐以求的商品。与此同时,我亦结识了一班与自己有共同嗜好的伙伴。

从小到大父亲都是一个无所不能,无所不知的人,我真的觉得他非常厉害。虽然论专门知识的话当然还是现在的我比较熟悉,但以前的他就是不论甚么都比我知得多,比我做得好,所以他一直都是我十分仰慕的对象。当将来我有了孩子的话,我也会想成为像他那般的父亲呢。

我的目光却慢慢从服装转投到绘画一事上。周遭的同学都很赏识我的作品,他们的评价令我渐渐对自己的画作產生了自信,也间接成為了我立志往后要当画家的契机。

一直都很盼望能从事与服饰有关的工作,所以我就以入读文化服装学院为目标。只不过我高中时期的上课日数不达标,连报读的资格也没有呢(笑声)。但我并没有因此放弃,反而是转投其他专门学校。正如俗语「近朱者赤」所说,在东京就读的专门学校内聚集了很多嗜好相似的同学,加上东京的信息流转得很快,想要买的都能瞬速到手,这种感觉既新鲜又令人雀跃。另一方面,心里那股不想被周遭看低乡郊城市出身的动力,也使我更加倍努力地戒掉方言口音,真的是拼了老命地在学习标准语的口音呢(笑声)。明明专门学校内应该有很多同是来自乡镇的学生,但大家却都能半点也不流露出乡郊感。可能是因为时装专门学校的关系,大家都很执着于不要被周遭的人看轻吧(笑声)。

我虽然在服饰专门学校度过了3年学生岁月,但在第3年的时候,我的目光却慢慢从服装转投到绘画一事上。周遭的同学都很赏识我的作品,他们的评价令我渐渐对自己的画作產生了自信,也间接成為了我立志往后要当画家的契机。若没有了这群好伙伴,我相信我也不会投身绘画这个行业吧。即使到了现在,我跟那时的同学关係依然很要好,有时又会有一同工作的机会,个人而言他们都是我很珍贵的财產,是第一批肯定了我绘画价值的知己。

那是个还是注重销情多于型格的时代,像当时我从事的品牌的立场就跟我很不符,但我就是非常讨厌这种取向,难道他们不会觉得毫无个人风格吗?与其以自觉型格的东西决一胜负,主流还是会因为单纯一个大标志的产品更畅销而选择后者。

我有曾经到过成衣公司上班哦,所以还是有经历过夹在机构内的滋味。嘛,那是个还是注重销情多于型格的时代,像当时我从事的品牌的立场就跟我很不符,但我就是非常讨厌这种取向,难道他们不会觉得毫无个人风格吗?与其以自觉型格的东西决一胜负,主流还是会因为单纯一个大标志的产品更畅销而选择后者。我领悟到在这种随波逐流的氛围下工作根本不会令自身有所成长,所以最终选择了辞职。当时的想法就是「要做个人认为有型,自己想做的事,就唯有自立门户了。」,现在回看也太肤浅了吧(笑声)。

一路匆忙走来,我曾经跟父母亲许下过「若是到了叁十岁仍捱不出头的话就会放弃」的承诺。当手上了无资金的时候,我还甚至特地在手肘下方弄了个刺青,以表明只走这条路的决定,顺道又可以提醒自己已经过不了普通的生活(笑声)。刚起步的时候就大概只有靠着设计服饰时认识的前辈或朋友的提携过活,完全搞不懂做些甚么才能赚钱,所以就决定先从与人接触这点开始,培养出跑夜场的习惯。在夜场露面的时光,让我先后遇上了几位当时负责筹划现场表演的面孔,与他们合作多了,社交圈子就这么扩阔起来了。当然,那个时候我已经有在画MOKOMOKO,即使不像是现时这种景况,但画的时候也是心里一直希望能够让更多人认识到自己的存在。虽然今后它的外观应该仍会不断变化,但是MOKOMOKO的本质是永远都不变的。

我一直以来都只是凭着毫无根据的自信活过来,就连艰苦的时候也总算撑过来了,所以思想是非常正面的。听起来可能有点天真,但大概就是凭着这种精神奋勇向前,才会有现在的成果吧。

最困扰的应该是付不起房租一事吧(笑声)。当时身上背负着无法还清的贷款,实在是为家人,兄弟以及当时的女友带来了极大的麻烦,根本数不清被训斥过多少次要动手找一份正当工作了…无可否认,那时真的是过不了生活,他们说得一点都没错(笑声),不过我还是每次都响应「绝对没问题的,你们等着瞧吧」(笑声)。我一直以来都只是凭着毫无根据的自信活过来,就连艰苦的时候也总算撑过来了,所以思想是非常正面的。听起来可能有点天真,但大概就是凭着这种精神奋勇向前,才会有现在的成果吧。虽然说不出实际年份,但我也大概是20岁后期才变得能靠着本业维持生计的。与那时候的自己相比,当然是现在活得更从容,但今后还是有可能会突然失去所有工作邀约的啊。还有很多待我处理的事情,所以仍不可以满足于现状。嘛,像我这种职种的人,大概一生也不会感到满足吧(笑声)。

 

Latest Issue

Loading...
MHAK

MHAK

October 14, 2017

Profile

Name:
MHAK as MASAHIRO AKUTAGAWA
DOB:
1981
POB:
Aizu-wakamatsu,Japan
Occupation:
Painter / Artist

MOKOMOKO (crawling on) evolves; but its spirit won’t change. MHAK is a man who was born in Aizu Wakamatsu and has taken on the world. He just thinks about what he should mind and do to remain himself: “heart and mind of people” expressed through the passion hidden in the inorganic MOKOMOKO he depicts. With his paint, he depicts parts beyond paint. His iron will won’t be swayed, now and forever.
**MOKOMOKO is his magnum opus.

Since my childhood, my dad was able to perform almost anything; he literally could do and know everything, admired indeed. I also want to be an ideal father like him when I have kids in the future.

In my childhood, I was rather active, playing baseball, skiing, and playing around in rivers and mountains. While I loved painting, too, I rather preferred playing outside. I started to be interested in clothes when I was a junior high school student with interior and furniture seen as its extension. When I moved on to high school, my interest toward things of interior gradually began to get intense, adoring the mid-century modern, where I started to come to know various designers; of course, I couldn’t afford their artworks just to be adored all the time as part of my adolescence. At the age of 18 when I came over to Tokyo, I had some money available for myself and I was able to buy what I had deemed cool and wanted to obtain, little by little; at the same time, I secured buddies who had shared interests with me.

Since my childhood, my dad was able to perform almost anything; he literally could do and know everything, admired indeed. Now that I am even more savvy to expertise I am concerned with, I remember I had a strong adoration to him who knew far better and was far more able than I did or was back then. I also want to be an ideal father like him when I have kids in the future.

I found myself gradually getting focused rather on paint. People around me greatly commended works I had drawn, which increasingly led to my confidence, at least a trigger to make me believe I would live in this world.

Since I always wanted to be professionally involved with fashion, I aimed at entering “Bunka”. But with my attendance at high school not enough, I was told that I was not qualified to sit for the entrance exam of Bunka (culture) Fashion College (ouch!). But I couldn’t ever give up, attending another fashion college, As a proverb, “birds of a feather flock together”, goes, the school at Tokyo had a lot of buddies with similar interests and tastes. In addition, as in Tokyo information spreads fast; you can buy anything anytime you want, it was very fresh and fun for me. On the other hand, since I really didn’t want to be disrespected at school as from countryside, I made as much effort to correct my accent as soon; it was as if I had been working hard to acquire the standard accent (painful). Although normally such a college has many from countryside, at the school they all didn’t appear to be one; there must be many like me who didn’t want to be looked down to for such a fashion college.

I appreciate my having attended the fashion college for three years; at the third year, I found myself gradually getting focused rather on paint. People around me greatly commended works I had drawn, which increasingly led to my confidence, at least a trigger to make me believe I would live in this world. I think without those buddies, I wouldn’t have become a painter. I still keep a good relationship with those buddies back then; I sometimes work with them, indeed a great treasure for me. It is them that kindly purchased my paint drawn for the first time, too.

the stance of a brand I worked for was not fitted to me anyways. Instead of competing with things deemed cool, the mainstream was to do with things just sellable, in which I worked and by which I was influenced, as I in the end had to give up for the lack of potential for my own growth.

I did enter an apparel company once. Thus, I knew some about what it would relationship-wise take to belong to an organization, but at the time, the stance of a brand I worked for was not fitted to me anyways. It may concern ages. It was an age when they did businesses not for cool things but for sellable things, which I personally rather hated as not stylish. Instead of competing with things deemed cool, the mainstream was to do with things just sellable, in which I worked and by which I was influenced, as I in the end had to give up for the lack of potential for my own growth. I thought if I wanted to do cool things or what I had wanted to do, the only option left for me was to go independent, which was too short-sighted in hindsight (indeed).

After I also promised to my parents that I would quit if I couldn’t be successful up until I was 30 years old, I indeed rushed forward; even when I didn’t have much money, I tattooed the part below my elbow to show my determination for such sole future direction, giving up on a so-called “decent” life to be led (smirk). At first, I didn’t know anything at all about what would bring you money. I just secured orders through the connections I made when I had designed clothes from my seniors and friends back then, not knowing how to make money in the least. Then, in order to meet as many people, I started to play around at nights, too. Over time, I came to know people who played live paint at clubs back then and was offered to work with them, thereby expanding my network. Of course, I was drawing MOKOMOKO back then already, which did not look like the current one but was drawn with the possibility for me also to be recognized by the world around constantly in mind. As its external forms might change in the future, the essence of my MOKOMOKO will remain as it is.

As I’ve lived just on my ungrounded confidence, my thought is utterly positive, by which I’ve managed to survive my unrewarded years. I might’ve been childish, but as the result of my having moved forward with that sprit, I as I am now might be right here, alive.

What perplexed me most was that I couldn’t even pay the rent (pinched). I was shouldered with debts I didn’t know how to pay back, also enormously burdening my parents, brothers, and then-girlfriend. I don’t know how many times I was told to quit…, instead to work decently, which was righteous as I actually couldn’t make a living by myself (starving), But each time I was told that, I retorted, “it should be ok, so wait.” (unsure). As I’ve lived just on my ungrounded confidence, my thought is utterly positive, by which I’ve managed to survive my unrewarded years. I might’ve been childish, but as the result of my having moved forward with that sprit, I as I am now might be right here, alive. Though I can’t remember correctly, the time I started to be able to barely eke out was around in my late 20’s. I am rather affluent compared to me at that time; but you can’t deny there is a possibility that I will abruptly lose all the orders in the future. As there are a lot of things I am supposed to do, I am not satisfied with myself yet at all. Well, the professional race like ours probably can’t be satisfied for a lifetime, I admit (frankly).

 

Latest Issue