Loading...
DJ KRUSH

DJ KRUSH

October 23, 2017

曾经在原宿步行者天堂的街头升起的熊熊烽火,成了在这个众多艺术家被卷入其中的世界中大发异彩的嘻哈音乐人的标志。但是DJ KRUSH内心深处里的反叛精神并没有随着时光的流逝而改变,对于音乐的热情也没有衰退。在日本称得上享誉世界的DJ,除了他就谈不上其他人了。解读这位声音的创造者是如何一步步地走向表演的过程,毫无疑问是对今后将要在享受音乐并且靠其生活下去的人们所能提供的无与伦比的赠礼。

因为没有钱,所以有了这些奇思妙想。很开心哦,因为必须要让想象力全部发挥出来,所以现在全都摆在桌子上哦!Hip Hop也是如此,既然买不起节奏器,那么我就想着用家里有都麦克风来表现一下如何呢。

小的时候,我们一家四口住在厕所是公用的,一间屋只有六帖(约十平米)的狭窄公寓里。就在这样小的屋子里,我爸硬是塞进了一个TRIO(註釈)*4频道SQ的巨大无比的,很有昭和时代家具风格的音箱进来,让我听烟花的声音。“快坐到中间来听听看!怎么样!?是不是好像就在头上方响着啊!”(笑声)有时候也听*JB,*SANTANA,*Miles什么的。我爸很喜欢音乐。

那个时候穷得连玩具模型都买不起。同学里有比较有钱的孩子买了,我就从他那里要。我要过来那个孩子做完的船呀,车呀,多余出来的塑料框架和部件,自己将那些零碎的部件接在一起做机器人什么的。我就是这么做的呢。现在想来,结果那就和嘻哈乐一样,以样品将从各种地方拿来的音源组合在一起做出一个作品。

我在小学五年级的时候加入了鼓乐队,在刚刚知道事的时候就在摇滚乐队担当了鼓手。我们聚在朋友家,把挡雨蓬一盖就在那里练习。贝斯和弦乐器可以插进变音音箱将声音放小,但是鼓可怎么办呢?那个孩子家挺有钱,于是我们大家跑到他家厨房去吃了见都没有见过的外国买的购罐装饼干,把那个罐子的盖子排列起来做成鼓。只有鼓的脚踏和鼓槌是从学校借来的呢。(笑声)就这样打《*Smoke on the Water》。因为没有钱,所以有了这些奇思妙想。很开心哦,因为必须要让想象力全部发挥出来,所以现在全都摆在桌子上哦!Hip Hop也是如此,既然买不起节奏器,那么我就想着用家里有都麦克风来表现一下如何呢。

当时,隔壁住的不良大哥们听着黑人音乐的黑胶唱片。我既喜欢摇滚又喜欢朋克,听那个的时候感到旋律很是不同。无法言语的冲击。从那时起我就对黑人音乐有了兴趣,开始收集唱片。那种音乐很能让我燃起来。当时有听诸如*The Commodoores、*Stevie Wonder、*Kool & the Gang那种很怀旧的音乐。因此当时我是实时地,听了那些后来成为嘻哈乐素材的音乐。现在我还存有那个时期的7英寸的日本盘。为什么同样是16拍,架子鼓带给人的亢奋感觉却如此不同呢?当时对此我特别有兴趣。所以*S.O.S. Band来的话我就去看,也经常去看过去的骤停打击乐风(Funk)的乐队和黑人音乐的演奏。曾经我经常去MUGEN(註釈)哦。开演唱会的时候里面就会像吊车一样升起一个圆的格子。演奏结束了格子就一下子降落到舞台中央来。人能很稳地坐在里面,很可爱的。(笑声)那里面像是闪着黑色的光,氛围很诡异。视觉上首先就很有冲击力,然后里面又发出骤停打击乐(Funk)那沉重的鼓点声。太震撼了。现在已经没有那样的地方了呢。

比起在洁白的桌布上用刀叉进食,我从下水道井盖里向上窥视世界的时候,才能够更好地观察到这个世界。直到现在我依旧很重视这种街头的感觉。

观看《*Wild Style》的时候,真的是受到了震撼。毫无束缚地感受了一把《Wild Style》的街头音乐风。使用拥有的东西去表演,这种破破烂烂的感觉完全吸引住了我,所以我就去了。用两台转盘机,这主意也很了不起啊,一般没有人想得到去用两台吧!?(笑声)对于那个时代,他们有很多想诉说的事。那是他们在以麦克风代替枪,进行着斗争的讯息。在涂鸦上,大家都使用着同样都喷漆罐,但是却画出完全不同的样式。表现事物的想象力,那可是无边无际自由自在的。年轻的时候充满力量但是很迷茫,不知道该朝哪个方向走。但是观看他们表演的时候,确实让我思考了今后要如何生活。虽然和时代也有关系,不过因为那部电影,我一下子看到了今后自己想做的事情。

若干年后我见到了*Lee Quiñones本人,告诉他“看了你们的电影我开始了Hip Hop”。并且还和*Futura一起工作过。可以说的他们的共通点是,都是只有在自己面前才展示的独特个性。当然还有很多很多其他的优秀的艺术家,不过大家都是活跃在街头的。在街头跳舞,涂鸦,走出街头发出声音,争着说唱用饶舌说出自己想说的话。曾经我一直活跃的地方也是街头,在街头给女孩子搭讪,不是在高级的酒店而是在酒店成长起来。在街头矗立的破烂吊灯前喝酒,街头那破碎的玻璃,蟑螂的尸体,那样更加地符合我。比起在洁白的桌布上用刀叉进食,我从下水道井盖里向上窥视世界的时候,才能够更好地观察到这个世界。直到现在我依旧很重视这种街头的感觉。因此《Wild Style》是真的非常具有决定性。他们做的表演,是使用那些金钱买不到的东西所表现出来的。说到底,影像连同音乐,是《Wild Style》给我指明了这条道路。

第一次在观众前表演是在原宿的步行者天堂,同*MURO也是在原宿相遇。那个时候是*竹之子一族,Break dancer,*冲田浩之,摇滚歌手的全盛时代。之后,club D之类的Hip Hop也流行起来,DJ比赛也在各种地方开始了。我因为想要奖金和商品,经常是疯狂地参加。(笑声)从来都在第一第二名哦。作为*Scha Dara Parr,*ECD,*Rhymester前身的Galaxy也有参加。我在第二届大会上获得了冠军,那之后就开始在流连在夜店表演。于是,*KRS-One呀,*Dream Warriors来参加日本的Tower records的时候我在前排表演之后,他们就过来问我“在六本木新的夜店Droopy Drawers开张的话,KRUSH要不要来”。那个时候,还和*DJ HONDA一起表演来着。

 

Latest Issue

Loading...
DJ KRUSH

DJ KRUSH

October 23, 2017

The beacon for battle once flying high into the sky by the roadside of street paradise (cars not allowed to enter, often with live street performances shown) in Harajuku with its smoke entangled many an artist to become the symbol of HIP HOP shining at the center of the globe. His rebellious spirit at the bottom of his heart, though much of time has passed since then, remains unchanged, with his passion for sound still growing. To shed light on his path and processes to become the sound creator and performer named DJ KRUSH for sure would be the superb gift for those who will enjoy and live with their sound.

My lack of money led to such ideas. It was and is fun; you have to fully utilize your imagination, beyond your school desks! Same thing for HIP HOP: I can’t afford a rhythm machine; then I’ll have to use my MIC at home to make the best expression I can make.

When I was a kid, four of my family members were living in a single, small room (less than 10 ㎡) of an apartment even with its rest room shared by residents. My dad stuffed a gigantic furniture-style stereo with SQ type of TRIO4 channel into such a small room to let me listen to something like the sound of firework. “You, go sit in the middle of this room! How is it!? Reverberating right above your head already, right!?” Like that (my goodness). Some of the time, he listened to JB, SANTANA, or Miles. He loved music indeed.

At the time, my family was too poor to even buy plastic models for me, while I had a classmate of mine whose family was affluent enough to be able to afford ones for him. I collected various remnants (garbage) such as plastic frames and parts out of finished ships and cars he made from him to connect those irrelevant parts to create a robot by myself. That’s what I did. In hindsight, that has been similar to HIP HOP after all in that I am to collect pieces of sound from various sources through sampling to build a piece of work.

When I was a 5th grader, I joined a drum and fife corps to be in charge of drum in a rock band later when I grew up a little more. We gathered at a friend’s house to practice after closing the sliding shutters tight. While we had small amplifiers for our bass and strings, we couldn’t procure drum, right? Then the friend of mine, a kid of a rich family, went over to the kitchen to fetch Western cookies I had never seen before for us all to eat up first and juxtapose the lids of empty cans to make drum by ourselves (great, huh?), and played something like “Smoke on the Water” on it. My lack of money led to such ideas. It was and is fun; you have to fully utilize your imagination, beyond your school desks! Same thing for HIP HOP: I can’t afford a rhythm machine; then I’ll have to use my MIC at home to make the best expression I can make.

I remember that delinquent-like bros living next-door were listening to black music on a standard 45-rpm record, an impact that rendered me speechless. Which made me interested in black music for me to start collecting such records, a fit for me. I listened to the old versions of The Commodores, Stevie Wonder, Kool & the Gang and the like, which means I listened to what would be the sources of my HIP HOP, real-time. I still retain Japanese 7-inch versions for them. Why is the groove of snare / hat / kick so different as it is the same 16-beat? So I thought, interested very deeply. Thus, I went over to watch S.O.S Band whenever they came, and old funk-type / black-type bands very often. I frequented MUGEN (name of a venue meaning infinity) indeed. A round booth moved up like a wrecker truck. After bands finished playing, the booth sped down to the center of the stage, with people on it tightly, very cute for me (giggle). Inside of it eerily shined with black light. I was also visually impressed with funk giving out dense sound amid that. That was breathtaking. Now I’m sorry I can’t find such places anymore.

Rather than dine out on the crystal-white table with knives & forks dressed up, I would watch the world through a street and can properly that way. Such street mentality is still important for me.

When I watched Wild Style, it was really, really moving. I felt freedom in Wild Style’s street-wise senses. Gradually got attracted to its “delinquency” to do with what it’d got. Its idea as two of turn tables was amazing, too; you usually don’t want to use two of them, do you!? In that era, they got what they wanted to appeal: a message to fight with a mike instead of doing so with a gun. For graffiti, too, they while using the same spray cans could draw totally different designs. It is their imaginative power for creativity that was infinitely free. We often get lost when we are young while physically strong, often at a loss over which way to take. But when I watched it, I was also obliged to think upon how to live from then on. Despite differing time backgrounds, the movie triggered me to see through what I really wanted to do.

Several years later, I was also able to meet Lee Quiñones to tell him my adoration as, “I started HIP HOP because I had watched your movie.” I was able to work with Futura, too. A shared trait of theirs is that they’d got peculiar personalities they only could strike out. Of course, there were other wonderful artists; they were on the street. They danced on the street, drew on the street, made sound on the street, and said whatever they’d got to say to quarrel for catharsis on the street. I was also playing around on the street, picked up girls on the street, grew up on the street instead of a luxury hotel. Drank in a shabby pub on the street, and witnessed shards and carcasses of roaches on the street. That’s for me. Rather than dine out on the crystal-white table with knives & forks dressed up, I would watch the world through a street and can properly that way. Such street mentality is still important for me. Therefore, Wild Style was too decisive (not to change). Their expressions were not about purchasing things for creation with money but about creating with what they’d got at hand. In retrospect, Wild Style has bestowed this way of life including images and sounds upon me.

It was on street paradise, too, that I performed in front of audience for the first time and I met MURO in Harajuku, too. It was the era for “bamboo-shoot group (a band of people who sang and danced with gaudy attires)” including Hiroyuki Okita, break dancers and rock’ n’ rollers in full-bloom. After that, club D and HIP HOP became a fad with DJ contests beginning to be held in many venues. I participated in many to grab award money or goods (spoils, you know). I always got the third prize or up, I’m telling you. People of a group named Galaxy (=Rhymester), Scha Dara Parr and ECD also joined. I grabbed the first prize in my second tournament and started to play in clubs. Then when I made an opening performance for KRS-One or Dream Warriors who came over to Tower Record in Japan, Some producers accosted me as, “Why don’t you come over to Droopy Drawers, a new club under construction in Roppongi, to play KRUSH’s?”. Back then, I played with DJ HONDA, too.

 

Latest Issue